King of Days – Thursday


This post was scheduled to be published yesterday.  But, well, better late than being too late 🙂 .

I have so often come across details pertaining to any day of the year and the events that had occurred on that day at any given point of time and anywhere over the world.

Well, I said to myself, instead of trying to relate myself to those events, it is better to drown myself into the sweet memory of my school days and the special affection that I have with – THURSDAY.

I completed my schooling from St. Francis D’Assisi High School and Jr. College.  A mighty institution for the last 100+ years.  My school had a distinct feature which used to set it apart from others instantly.  My school used to remain closed on Thursday, every week. Thus all the students enjoyed two holidays – Sunday and Thursday.  Having an off on Thursday  gave me the luxury to postpone my projects or homework of the preceding three days on to Thursday.  Thursday acted like a buffer against monotonous cycle of attending school.  I enjoyed the bright feeling of, having a holiday the next day, twice in a week; once on Wednesday evening and then on Saturday evening.

Thursday was favourite for one more very important reason.  My grandfather used to conduct a small puja everyday but only on Thursday, he would get pedhas(sweets) as prasad  (sweet offering made to God while reciting the sacred verses).  My favourite past time would then include to slowly savor the entire afternoon pampering my sweet tooth.

Afternoons would also be spent reading comics, textbooks or just watching the movements of Mother Nature through the hall or kitchen window.

I am talking about a period pre 1994. Things were good then. People had a life as compared to today’s situation wherein people are born to slog and in between take break from their hectic corporate lives by indulging in the phenomena of life.

Thus, Thursday somehow stood out for me as a day which announced happiness and peace in its own right. A feeling which I hold dear after so many years.

This blog is about that one day of the week wherein I could reflect on the days passed by and also look forward to the coming days.  Thursday – King of the Week.

 

About Sumukh Naik

Namaste! Greetings from India! I am Author of 'Age Of Hiblisk', voracious reader & Human Resources professional. I like to keep things simple, very down to earth and believes in the message of spreading love and peace. My blogs are a reflection of the world around me. Please visit www.facebook.com/AgeOfHiblisk for more details 'Age Of Hiblisk' (Hardcopy / Kindle ) can be purchased at DISCOUNTED rates from: www.amazon.com / www.amazon.in www.apkpublishers.com (For Indian and Non Indian residents) www.flipkart.com I also define myself as a 'Soul Explorer'
This entry was posted in General, Humor, India, Life and All, Nature, Soul Serching and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to King of Days – Thursday

  1. I am also a huge fan of Thursdays! It’s the day just before the start of the weekend…it’s the furthest away from Monday you can get while still looking forward to the start of a weekend.

    Best. Day. Ever.

    Cute post, Sumukh! 🙂

Leave a Reply

