Interview with an Author


Hi friends, we have a new author in our Interview section today, Mr. Armaan Farid, author of “Stories From The Heart Of A Dreamer“. The book was launched in late December and has managed to crack the Top 10 list on www. flipkart.com.

Here’s the Synopsis of the book:

If variety is the spice of life, then Stories from the Heart of a Dreamer delivers in spades. Ranging from a multitude of genres such as Romance, Crime/Thriller, Horror, and Epic journeys of the human soul, the book ensures that there is something for everyone.

From the frost-bitten streets of Shimla, searching for love, to the violent streets of Mumbai, searching for blood. From trying to save a friend from the clutches of a corrupt politician’s family, to trying to make India proud on the biggest stages of world tennis. From the mysterious world of the paranormal, to the vicious world of deceit and trickery. The action and drama never stops as Stories from the Heart of a Dreamer attempts to tell seven delightful tales that are sure to leave an imprint on your mind and heart.

These are the stories to mesmerize. These are the stories to last a lifetime.

Book Available on : www.apkpublishers.com, www.flipkart.com

Stories from the Heart of a Dreamer

Blurbs

Fiction is a good way of putting things in perspective. Armaan has managed it well and I compliment him for that.

Kanchan Gogate, Times of India journalist and author of Go…Get It

The stories in this book are great! They vary greatly in their length and genre but they have one thing in common: they keep you riveted! Once you start reading a story, you simply can’t stop till you have finished it. I loved all the stories a lot, and so will you!

Vikram Karve, author of Cocktail: Short Stories about Relationships

“An impressive debut by a talented and aspiring author.”

Tejdeep Kaur Menon, Police Officer and Poet.

“Nothing less than sensational coming from a 21-year-old! I will be the first one to pick up a dozen copies for our library! Armaan surely is a fabulous talent with tons of potential and I hope to see many more books from him in the future…”

Harish Bhamidipati, CEO of Tender Leaves: It’s more than just a library!

The Interview :

1) What was your inspiration behind writing the book – ‘Stories from the Heart of a Dreamer’?

I suppose I was greatly influenced by a quote from the great, Swami Vivekananda, who stated that while our life is short, we must get up and make a mark in the world. Just so that there would some difference between us, the trees and the stones; who also come into existence and then decay, and die. In short, I chose to become an author because I was desperate to make a mark in this world.

2) How did you manage to sustain the drive towards your work for 3 years?

“Only those bold enough to chase their dreams, are the ones who catch them.” These words ran riot in my brain throughout those three years. Once you decide that you’re going to attempt to make a dream a reality, you have to complete it no matter how difficult the task. Otherwise I was certain that, the regret of quitting would haunt me forever. Also, I really want to take this chance to say that I had the greatest set of friends and family a guy could ever ask for. When I was at my weakest, they were my pillars of strength and I owe them a lot more than I will ever be able to give back.

3) Tell us something about your book – ‘Stories from the Heart of a Dreamer’?

It’s one of those books which is meant to give a good experience to the person who wants to read an intriguing tale. It’s a collection of 7 stories of varying lengths, and covers four genres. Each story is a separate entity on its own, with its own goals to accomplish and emotions to share, but after a few professional reviews, I can safely say that the common ground for all the stories is that it uses a good plot as a strong base upon which the tale is told, and great attention is paid to making sure that the narration is of top quality, no matter what genre is in the spotlight.

4) Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. I’ve always had a deep-rooted passion for the language of English. Mesmerized almost by the power of words, and its ability to move people. So, the chance to be part of the field that I adore is nothing short of “living the dream”. But I must also say that only today am I more confident about the possibility of being an author. I suppose the critical acclaim the book has already received from various professionals and newspapers; and also reaching the dizzying height of rank 8. on flipkart’s “top new release” made me much more assured that I could indeed do this for a living.
5) Who are your favourite authors and which are the books that have influenced you the most?

John Osborne would be the author who served as the greatest source of inspiration. Other authors who have meant a lot to me over the years would be: Charles Dickens, Leo Tolstoy, William Shakespeare, Mark Twain, amongst others. As for Indian writers who have left an imprint on my mind and heart: Ruskin Bond and Sir Rushdie are probably the benchmarks for me. As for the book which was most influential, I have to say without a shadow of a doubt it would be, “Look back in anger” by John Osborne.
6) What was the biggest challenge that you had to face while writing your book – ‘Stories from the Heart of a Dreamer’?

The greatest challenge was a certain patch during the writing of the fourth story, when I hit a writer’s block. It was pretty rough and considering it was my first, I was definitely quite frightened. But little by little, I got through that and the rest, as they say, is history.

7) Which is your favourite part of the book and why?

While the whole book has a special place in my heart for obvious reasons, I’d have to say the entire story titled “The Art Of Murder” would be my favorite, considering it was that particular story which was widely praised even during the early days. I think it’s fair to say that I began to understand how to be a proper author during the writing of this story.

8) What is your greatest strength as a writer?

While attempting my best not to brag, I’d have to say that I’m very good with narration of events. I enjoy paying great attention to detail in order to allow the reader to visualize the story in the eye of his mind. But like everything else, I believe I will get better with time.
9) Who designed the cover?

A certain Mr. Hirday designed the cover page. I had the pleasure of telling him my vision for the cover page through Mr. Karhade (founder of APK Publishers).
10) Who is your publisher?

My publishers are APK Publishers. I want to say quite a few things about my publishing house, but I refrain in fear of seemingly advertising for them rather cheaply. So instead, I want to just say that it is my honor and my privilege to be associated with them. They are one of the best emerging publishing houses in India, and for first time writers, who have genuinely good material, they are quite simply the best.

11) What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

While I can’t give any advice about the actual process of writing, I will share one thought with them, and truthfully, anyone who is reading this interview. “Chase every dream you have. No matter what the masses say, if you genuinely believe in yourself and your ability to turn the dream into a reality, then please do not hesitate. Follow your dreams through the blinding darkness, because the light that shines on the other side will take your heart to places you never imagined it could go.” From the bottom of my heart, I wish everyone the best for the future.

12) From where can we purchase your book – ‘Stories from the Heart of a Dreamer’?

The book can currently be purchased on flipkart.com. It will also be hitting stores such as Landmark, Crosswords, etc. in about a week and a half or so.

I thank Mr. Armaan Farid for sharing his wonderful views with us on his book – “Stories From The Heart Of A Dreamer” and we wish him lots of success in his future endeavors.

About Sumukh Naik

Namaste! Greetings from India! I am Author of 'Age Of Hiblisk', voracious reader & Human Resources professional. I like to keep things simple, very down to earth and believes in the message of spreading love and peace. My blogs are a reflection of the world around me. Please visit www.facebook.com/AgeOfHiblisk for more details 'Age Of Hiblisk' (Hardcopy / Kindle ) can be purchased at DISCOUNTED rates from: www.amazon.com / www.amazon.in www.apkpublishers.com (For Indian and Non Indian residents) www.flipkart.com I also define myself as a 'Soul Explorer'
This entry was posted in India, Interview, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

